Full-screen meeting reminder apps for Mac, compared

Price, license and alert style, as stated by each app's own page. Checked October 12, 2026.

If calendar notifications keep slipping past you, a full-screen meeting reminder is the fix. There are several for the Mac now. Here is how they differ, including ours, with the facts taken from each developer's own App Store page, website or GitHub repository.

AppPriceOpen sourceFull-screen alertAll displays
SlapssFree, no limitsYes (Apache 2.0)Yes, the main featureYes
MeetingBarFreeYes (Apache 2.0)Optional settingNot stated
TimelyMeetFreeYes (Apache 2.0)YesNot stated
MeetlyFree for 1 calendar, Pro is a one-time purchaseNot statedYesYes
BigReminderFree for 1 calendar and 1 alert a day, Pro by subscription or lifetimeNot statedYesNot stated
Alert Sign20 free alerts, then subscriptionNot statedYesYes
Here GoesPaid, one-time, with a trialNot statedYesYes
Hey ListenPaid, one-time, with a trialNot statedYesYes

"Not stated" means we could not find it on the developer's own page, not that the app lacks it. Prices and plans change, so check each app's page before you decide. If something here is wrong, and we will fix it.

When Slapss is the right pick

When another app fits better

Get Slapss free on the Mac App Store

Questions

What is the best free full-screen meeting reminder for Mac?
Slapss, MeetingBar and TimelyMeet are free and open source. Slapss is built around the full-screen alert, has no limits, and supports Microsoft 365 sign-in directly. MeetingBar is primarily a menu bar calendar with full-screen alerts as an option.
Is there a MeetingBar alternative with full-screen alerts by default?
Yes. Slapss shows a full-screen alert for every meeting by default, on one display or all of them, and keeps the next meeting with a countdown in the menu bar.
Which meeting reminder apps for Mac are open source?
Slapss (Apache 2.0), MeetingBar (Apache 2.0) and TimelyMeet (Apache 2.0).
How was this comparison made?
From each developer's own App Store page, website or GitHub repository, checked on October 12, 2026. We did not include apps whose own pages contradicted each other about whether they show a full-screen alert.